Tarte Grav3yardgirl Swamp Queen | Review

IMG_1068_Fotor

I remember when this palette first came out there was a big hype surrounding it. Most of the time this is the case when there’s a collaboration between a brand and a youtuber. I heard of it but wasn’t that interested. But when I made an order on the Tarte website a while ago, I looked at the palette and my curiosity got the best of me. I bought it and here I am. If you want to hear my thoughts on this palette, then keep on reading.

I feel like last year was the year of collaborations, so many were floating around, and this year is no different, they just keep coming. I personally am always interested in collabs, especially if I follow the youtuber in question.

I never followed Bunny (grav3yardgirl), but when her collab was out I did watch one or two of her videos, but decided her channel wasn’t for me. I’m sure she’s a lovely person though.

The collaboration is limited edition which means the palette will be gone eventually. I have no idea for how long it will continue to be in stock for though. You can order this palette on the Tarte website, where it retails for €40,-.

Let’s get into the packaging of the palette. The box it comes in has a wooden look to it, I really like it. On the front there is a little crocodile and it says the name of the palette in big white lettering.

IMG_1070_Fotor

On the back there is a picture of Bunny and a little bit written about who she is and what she does. There is also a list of ingredients and general information.

IMG_1069_Fotor

When you open the palette you see a big mirror with a quote on it. The quote says: “Believe in yourself, Love yourself, Encourage your individuality.” Love the quote, it’s a nice touch to the palette. The palette comes with nine eyeshadows, a blush, bronzer and highlighter. There’s also a brush included.

IMG_1071_Fotor

I’ve zoomed a bit in on the colors, so we could have a better look. Five of the shadows appear to be matte, while to the other four are metallic of have a slight glitter in them. The bronzer is matte, the blush has sparkles in them and the highlighter is extremely shimmery.

IMG_1072_Fotor

I swatched the face products first. From top to bottom we have the highlighter, blush and bronzer. It’s a one swipe swatch with no primer or anything on my arm.

IMG_1073_Fotor

From the bottom to the top I swatched the rows of the palette. Here I also used one swipe swatches and used no primer. As you can see the swatches are quite good, some shades are a little bit chalky but nothing too bad.

IMG_1074_Fotor

Of course I also created an eye look with this palette, As you can see in the picture below. It’s a very natural look, but there isn’t really much more to do with this palette since it is natural.

IMG_1105_Fotor

I also used the bronzer and blush from this palette on my cheeks. they applied very easily. The bronzer was so pigmented though I had to blend it out for  bit, but then it looked fine,

IMG_1106_Fotor

Conclusion: This palette is good, I like it. Do I think it’s anything special? No not really, it’s just another neutrals palette. The good thing is that it has, blush, bronzer and highlighter which makes this a good travel palette. It’s an easy palette to make a look with because the quality of the shadows is excellent. I don’t think this is a must have, but I get that if you like Bunny or are on the hunt for a good travel palette, you might want to pick this up. I don’t regret it, but It’s not a unique add on to my collection.

Rating: 7/10

Have you tried this palette or are you going to? Do you know or watch Bunny, or did you not know her either? Talk to you soon.

All the love, Des x

Leave a Reply

