NYX Brights Eyeshadow Palette | Review

IMG_1706_Fotor

I love colors! I think by now most of you know that. I think we don’t see enough of them. You can do so many fun looks with them, and while I do get it’s more daring than a neutral look, I just love it a lot. That’s why I decided to buy the NYX Brights palette and see how it works. If you want to know if it’s good, or if you can save some money, then keep on reading.

I’ve tried some products from NYX and I have been quite happy with most of them. I haven’t tried their eyeshadows yet and I’ve heard mixed reviews about them. I always want to know if something is good for myself so I decided to purchase it.

I bought the NYX Brights palette on the Douglas website, where it retails for €18,95. Not affordable for a drugstore brand but, I hoped it would be worth it.

The first thing I noticed when the palette came into the mail was that it was so tiny. Like I had seen pictures but they didn’t really show how small the palette is. The pans of the palette are quite small and so is the palette.

The packaging of the palette is simple shiny and black and with a clear lid so you can see what’s on the inside, I like that, you know what you’re grabbing, when you’re looking for your makeup.

IMG_1706_Fotor

On the back of the palette there is a sticker with some general information. The name of the palette is written and some general information. As you can see on the back there are 13 eyeshadow colors in the palette and 3 pressed pigments. Pressed pigments are overal more pigmented and can stain your eye lid.

IMG_1707_Fotor

Here is a close up of the colors.It’s mostly sorted by colors and this palette includes almost every color the rainbow has to offer. We go from reds, to pinks, oranges, purples, blues, greens and yellows.

IMG_1708_Fotor

Let’s get into some swatches. I swatched all the colors on my arm, without any primer on them.

IMG_1709_Fotor_Fotor

The swatches kind of disappointed me. They felt very chalky and the pigment was just not good. I could not do one swipe because it would barely show up on my arm. So I had to use more product to get these swatches to show up and work.

IMG_1710_Fotor_Fotor

This row full of blues swatched the best, they felt less chalky and the pigment was a little better then the other shades.

IMG_1712_Fotor_Fotor

This row was the worst, the yellow swatched horrible, and I just didn’t feel like these shades were ever going to show up properly.

IMG_1713_Fotor_Fotor

After I swatched all of these I was quite sad because it seemed like this was not gonna work out at all. Then again I did know that swatches don’t always say everything. So I tried to keep my disappointment to a minimum and make an eyeshadow look with this palette.

I put the second shade of the first row in my crease, it was a beautiful pink color and it blended well and was easy to work with. Then I grabbed the fourth shade of the fourth row and put it all over my lid. It was a little difficult to get it to show up, but not as bad as I thought it would be. It definitely swatches worse on the arm then it applies on the eye. That had me pleasantly surprised.

Then I grabbed some more of the pink color to brighten up my crease up some more. The third shade of the second row was a bright orange and I used that a little bit lower in my crease so it would blend in with the yellow on my lid.

I was so happy with how these shades blended, it was quite easy to work it. Yes I’d have to layer it up a little, but it was no where near as bad as I thought it would be. I am really happy with how the look turned out, I love colors!!!

IMG_1777_Fotor

 

IMG_1731_Fotor

 

IMG_1789_Fotor

 

IMG_1738_Fotor

What do you think of this look? Do you like colors or do you prefer neutral colors, let me know!!

Conclusion: While the swatches weren’t promising these shadows work much better on the eyes. They aren’t the best quality eyeshadows, a lot of shadows I have are better, but they work fine, and you can easily make looks with them. If you’re on the look out for a colourful palette, I’d recommend it. But don’t expect the same quality that some high end brand eyeshadows give you.

Rating: 7/10

Have you ever tried this palette or will you pick this one up, let me know! Hope to see you on the next one.

All the love, Des x

Leave a Reply

