Kylie Cosmetics Valentine’s Day Collection Part 2/2 | Review

IMG_1099_Fotor

Today I bring you guys part two of the Valentine’s Day collection by Kylie. In part one I reviewed the eyeshadow and blush palette “Kylie’s diary”. Today it’s time for lips. I have two different products: a lipkit, and a mini set which includes six different mini liquid lipsticks. If you want to know my thoughts on these, then keep on reading.

Let’s first talk about the lipkit I bought. There were 2 lipkits she came out with for this collection, “Valentine” and “Head Over Heels”. They retailed for $30, which is one dollar more then their regular lipkits.

I decided to only go for “Valentine” since it was the color that most appealed to me. It was a pink, nobody is surprised. “Head Over Heels” was also featured in the mini matte set which I will talk about later.

Let’s talk about the packaging. It’s like her regular lipkits, but all vamped up for Valentine’s Day. The mouth on the lipkit usually shows you the lip color inside the kit, but in this case it’s red and glittery. Also the word Kylie on the lipkit is written in the same glittery fond.

IMG_0998_Fotor

The back of the lipkit is pretty much the same as her normal ones. The droppings are once again in red. What I thought was cute, was the fact that there is To and From on the back so you could put your name there and give it as a present to someone. Very cute and a nice little touch.

IMG_0999_Fotor

Inside the lipkit you find two products. The lip liner, and the liquid lipstick. Once again in different packaging. The liquid lipstick is in beautiful red, I love the way it looks. The packaging of the lip liner is black as usual, but the cap of it was filled with cute doodled hearts.

IMG_1001_Fotor

I swatched both lip liner and liquid lipstick on my arm. No primer or anything, just my bare arm. The lip liner was very creamy as I’m used to with Kylie. The liquid lipstick felt very thin, also something that is normal with her formula. Besides it being so thin, the opacity was fine, in one swipe it was fully opaque.

IMG_1002_Fotor

Of course I also swatched the color on my lips. I wore this color for a few hours to see how it felt. I think the color looks quite similar as the tube, though it’s not as bright as I thought it would be? I don’t mind it wasn’t as bright, I like the way it looks and one can never have too many pink lipsticks.

IMG_1061_Fotor

As I said above I’ve worn if for a few hours so I could see and feel how it wore on my lips. I noticed this shade felt dryer than the other ones I’ve tried, which was disappointing because I liked the way they felt before. After 2 hours it looked quite dry on my lips, and it’s just not a good look. This shade did stay on my lips for a long time. Even with eating a lunch it was still looking good, except for the dryness. It did stain my lips. It was extremely hard to get off.

Conclusion: I like the shade of this lipstick but I wish it had the same formula as her regular ones. It’s not bad, but it’s not as good as I wish it was. I did pay $30 for it so when it’s not as good as you hoped it be, it always sucks a little.

Rating: 6/10

Now let’s get into the other part of this review. I also bought the mini mattes set, which includes 6 shades and retailed for $36. In this set there are six mini liquid lipsticks, no lip liners though. I think $36 is a reasonable price.

The liquids come into a little box, and there’s an individual space for every color.

IMG_1100_Fotor

On the back there is a list with ingredients, plus the shades names of the lipsticks inside the box.

IMG_1101_Fotor

I took one picture of the tube of the mini liquids., because they all look the same. It’s the same as the big lipkit one. Red with red lettering.

IMG_1102_Fotor

I have swatched the shades on my arm, all one swipe, as you can see they were perfectly pigmented. From top to bottom we have: Apricot, Maliboo, High Maintenance, Posie K, Head Over Heels and Mary Jo K.

IMG_1131_Fotor

And of course I swatched all the colors on my lips as well. Starting with Apricot, which is a pale peach color. It’s quite light, but it was okay for my skin color, if you’re darker than me I’m not sure how it would look.

IMG_1106_Fotor

The second color is Maliboo, and is described as a light cool toned nude.

IMG_1120_Fotor

The next color we have is called High Maintenance, and is described as a light cool pink color.

IMG_1122_Fotor

We then have Posie K, which is described as a cool toned berry.

IMG_1123_Fotor

Head Over Heels is a deep plum color and was the hardest to apply out of all of them.

IMG_1125_Fotor

And last but not least we have Mary Jo K, a true blue red color.

IMG_1129_Fotor

I don’t have too much to say about these. They all applied quite difficult, it was hard to get them even, and they seemed almost watery. Not at all like the formula I’m used to. Especially Head Over Heels was horrible. The colors also faded much sooner than the lipkits ever did, and overal it was just a huge disappointment.

Conclusion: I’m not happy with these, it feels like a whole other formula than her other lip kits. They apply difficult, don’t stay in place, and don’t look good on the lips. I think that maybe I have just gotten a bad batch, but still it makes me sad to see how badly these turned out for me.

Rating: 4/10

Have you tried these, or did you decide not to? Let me know, and I’ll see you soon.

All the love, Des x

Leave a Reply

