Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless Foundation | Review

IMG_0631_Fotor

Ah, the struggles of finding the right foundation. I’ve often discussed it here on my blog. I do have some foundations that I like now. I even have a high end foundation that I love, the Tarte Hybrid Gel Foundation. But I was still on the look out for a great drugstore foundation. I tried the Maybelline Fit me Matte and Poreless, and if you’re curious to hear my thoughts about them, then keep on reading.

There are so many drugstore foundations out there, and I’ve tried a few of them. The problem I have with a lot of the drugstore foundations is that they are often too dark or too yellow. The color selection is often not as good as high end foundations. The lightest shades are often too dark, and the dark shades aren’t dark enough for a lot of POC.

I decided to buy this foundation in the shade 110. There was also a lighter color in 105 but when I looked up swatches online, it seemed like that color was actually darker than the 110 one. The decision was made to just buy the “darker” shade.

I saw there was a sale going on at Kruidvat, so I picked up the foundation for only €6,99 while it normally retails for €9,99. You can buy it online here for my Dutch readers.

Let’s get into the packaging of the foundation. As you can see it’s a tube foundation. I prefer those, or a pump foundation, so that’s a plus. It’s black on the top of the tube plus the cap is black as well. The middle of the tube is see through so you can see the color of the foundation. When I first saw it, I was scared it would be too yellow, but I was wrong.

IMG_0631_Fotor

On the back of the foundation there’s just some information including the list of ingredients.

IMG_0632_Fotor

(Don’t mind my dog in the background of the next picture, isn’t he the cutest though??) I put a bit of the foundation on my hand so I could see if the color matched me. As you can see when it’s blended out you can barely see it, so that’s a sign the color match is close to perfect.

IMG_0633_Fotor

My stupid self didn’t make a picture of me wearing just the foundation alone, I always forget this. But I did have a picture where I am wearing the foundation, and I’ve been wearing it though the day so I could give you my full opinion about it.

IMG_0670_Fotor

The color matched me perfectly, I don’t think a drugstore foundation has ever been such a good match for me. It gave me a medium coverage, but it showed my skin through it, which I personally like. It is a matte foundation obviously, but I wouldn’t say it was too matte. It stayed put during the day without accentuating my dry skin, and it didn’t get oily on my t-zone. Even at the end of the day it was still looking good, it didn’t fade or anything, I was genuinely surprised.

Conclusion: This is definitely one of my new favorites. For only €9.99 you can’t beat this. I think this might not be the perfect foundation for extremely dry skin, but my skin has been changing a bit lately. If you are looking for a good drugstore matte foundation which stays in place and isn’t too expensive, then this is for you. They have quite a good color range as well. I will definitely be wearing this more often.

Rating: 8/10

What is your favorite drugstore foundation? And have you ever tried this one? Hopefully I will see you on the next one.

All the love, Des x

3 thoughts on “Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless Foundation | Review

Leave a Reply

