Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick In Dominatrix | Review

IMG_0635_Fotor

I have a review today for you all. It’s about a velour liquid lipstick by Jeffree Star. One of my favorite liquid lipsticks from his brand is the color Prom Night. But I always find that every color feels and wears differently, so here’s my review on another color. If you’re curious to hear my thoughts, then keep on reading.

There are a lot of different opinions about Jeffree Star, both about him and his brand. Some people love it, some people don’t. Thus far most products I have tried from his brand have been good, so I’m enthusiastic.

You can buy a whole wide range of his Velour Liquid Lipsticks online at his website. Then there is also Beautybay, which is a good retailer for people who don’t live in the US. For my Dutch readers there’s now also a way to get them even easier. TheMakeupSpot also sells his brand now, and is one of his official retailers. They retail for $20 on his official website. The prices on the other two sites vary.

The color I am going to talk about today is Dominatrix, a fitting name for this color. It’s an extremely dark brown color. While I do like brown and I do like dark lip colors, I don’t think I have anything like this in my stash. And to be honest, I had no idea how it would look, but I was just really intrigued by the color.

The packaging is just as his other liquids in a bright pink box, with silver stars on it.

IMG_0634_Fotor

The liquid lipstick itself is packaged in a clear tube and the top of the tube is bright pink. So you can see the color in the tube, which I think is always handy. The color is written on a sticker on the bottom of the liquid lipstick.

IMG_0635_Fotor

I swatched Dominatrix on my arm. Just one swipe and nothing underneath it. As you can see in the swatch, it’s extremely pigmented and dark.

IMG_0636_Fotor

To be honest when I first saw it swatched on my arm, I was a bit scared it would be too dark. It’s so extremely dark, I didn’t think I could pull it off, but I was surprised.

However when I applied it on my lips, I did think it looked quite good. Yes it was dark, but it looked nice. Now not everyone might like this, my mom didn’t for example, but personally I did. Would I wear this color every day? No, definitely not. But I would wear it out, it’s definitely a nice addition to my collection.

IMG_0670_Fotor

Tell me what you think of this color on me? I wore it for an entire day, and I was surprised it stayed on so well. Often with dark colors it’s more difficult, but this one stayed right in place. I could eat, drink and it stayed in place. Eventually it did start to fade a little, but not in a way it was ugly.

It was comfortable on my lips, I did notice it was a bit more drying as Prom Night was, but not in an uncomfortable way. All in all I was very happy with this color.

Conclusion: Yes, this liquid lipstick is expensive, but in my opinion it’s worth it. I just love the way these Jeffree Star ones wear, or at least the ones I’ve tried so far. I liked Prom Night more than Dominatrix but still, this color is so unique and something else, I am very happy with it. I think if you want a good liquid lipstick, this is definitely a brand you should look at.

Rating: 8/10

What are your thoughts about these liquids? Hope to see you soon.

All the love, Des x

5 thoughts on “Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick In Dominatrix | Review

Leave a Reply

