Tarte Empowered Hybrid Gel Foundation | Review

dsc00962_fotor

At the end of last year I placed an order on the Tarte website. They ship to the Netherlands, and you already pay taxes when you order, so no surprise payments when it arrives. I ordered a couple of things, of which you will see reviews in the future. Today I want to talk about the Empowered Hybrid Gel Foundation. Curious to hear my opinions on it? Then keep on reading.

Since I’m so into makeup, I always research a lot, and I watch and read so many tutorials and blogs about products. This time however, I did not do that. I saw this foundation and just had a feeling that I wanted to try it.

I bought the lightest shade in porcelain, which is suited for very fair skin tones. The foundation retails for €36 and has 30ml of product.

This is what Tarte writes about their foundation and what it’s supposed to do:

« Smooth skin is in with this radiant, full coverage foundation with skin-loving ingredients wrapped in a luxurious, creamy gel. The unique, oil-free blend of smoothing, plumping and pore refining ingredients help brighten skin while moisturizing and blurring the look of fine lines and pores. The cooling, hypoallergenic gel feels like a drink of water for your skin, while masking any redness, dark spots, acne and uneven skin tone for 12-hour wear across skin types. It’s available in a range of shades to match any skin tone with a soft, rose scent and natural, radiant finish. »

That sounds amazing doesn’t it? Because of my dry skin, whenever I hear the word moisturizing I’m always interested. Most of the foundations I have tried have been very liquidy, but this is a bit of a thicker gel-like consistency.

There are 18 different shades, which is quite a lot. I do think that especially higher end brands need to have this kind of shade range, because there are so many different skin tones and colors. It’s especially good to see that it seems like Tarte really thought about some deeper shades for poc.

Let’s start with the packaging of the foundation. It comes in a purple box and on the front of the box, the name of the foundation and the amount of product is written in white lettering.

dsc00961_fotor

 

dsc00962_fotor

On the back of the packaging you find the entire list of ingredients.

dsc00963_fotor

When I open the package, I see the foundation is in a little jar. Normally I have foundations in a bottle, but this one isn’t, probably because of the gel like consistency. The jar is from double frosted glas with a golden lid, which gives the foundation a really luxurious look. There are purple details on the side of the lid.

dsc00965_fotor

On the bottom of the jar is a sticker with a little information like how long the foundation is usable etc.

dsc00966_fotor

I made a picture so you could see the color of the foundation well. When I first opened it, I was afraid it would be way too dark, but it was a perfect color match.

dsc00967_fotor

Now I haven’t been the smartest since I do not have a picture of me with only the foundation. I do have a full face picture where I am wearing this foundation, so I will insert that here.

img_0259_fotor

This was about one layer of foundation. I didn’t want to use more since I don’t really like the heavy feeling on my face. I was really impressed by the coverage of the foundation. It covered my freckles and red cheeks, while still looking really natural.

Tarte claims it’s gives you a moisturizing feeling and I completely agree. This is so nice to put on your face, it gives you a cooling effect which feels so nice. I’ve worn my makeup that day for about 8 hours and it wore extremely well. I am very picky with foundations, I can barely find one that matches me shade wise, but I think this one looks really good on me. At the end of the day my foundation has usually worn off a little around my nose area and on my cheeks, but this one keeps on perfectly.

Tarte claims that to put this foundation on, you can best use their foundation brush and spatula. I actually also purchased that one, and used it to apply the foundation. I liked the brush, but I’m not completely sold yet. I think I will always prefer the Beautyblender for foundation. I’ll insert a picture of the brush down below.

750.jpg

Conclusion: I am in love with this foundation so far. Of course I need to keep wearing it to see if it keeps working this well for me, but so far it seems really good. The color matches perfectly, it’s moisturizing and doesn’t show the dryness on my face. It stays on all day and doesn’t fade, what more can I ask for?

Rating: 8/10

Have you ever tried this foundation or another one from Tarte? See you on the next one.

All the love, Des x

2 thoughts on “Tarte Empowered Hybrid Gel Foundation | Review

Leave a Reply

