Essence All About Greys Eyeshadow | Review

dsc00950_fotor

In my September wishlist I put the Essence All About Greys Eyeshadow on my list. I’ve wanted to try it for some time, and I picked it up a while ago. After trying it for a few times and creating a look with it, I’m here to give you my thoughts and review on this eyeshadow palette. Curious to know my thoughts? Then keep on reading.

Essence has been really stepping their game up lately. I’m a fan of a lot of their products, and their price is so affordable, definitely something that makes me happy!

I bought the Essence All About Greys Eyeshadow online at Kruidvat for €3,99.

I used to be the biggest fan of grey eyeshadows. All through my high school years I wore grey eyeshadow every day, I thought it suited me. Then again, I wasn’t as into makeup as I am right now. I did however wanted to try and see what my thoughts would be on grey eyeshadow today.

The Essence All About Greys Eyeshadow has 8 shades that are supposed to complement each other into making the perfect look. There are different finishes: matte, satin and metallic, and they are very buildable according to the Essence website.

First let’s get into the packaging. It’s a plastic box, as you can expect for such a low price. On the front of the palette the Essence logo is written in black lettering plus the All About Greys Eyeshadows also written in black font.

dsc00950_fotor

On the back of the palette there’s a little 3 step look you can create with this palette. I think it’s well thought about, if you’re new with makeup or just want an easy look, this is the perfect way to create it. I definitely liked the little tips they gave to create a look.

dsc00954_fotor

Here are the colors in the palette. It’s kind of difficult to show the different finishes on picture. As you can see, the first shadows look matte/satin, and the last shadow has sort of a shimmer/glitter in it.

dsc00955_fotor

Let’s get into some swatches. I swatched all the colors with my fingers on my arm. I used no primer and I didn’t try to build the shadow up since that wouldn’t seem fair for this review.

img_0236_fotor

Something that I immediately noticed was that some colors looked very similar. I understand they wanted colors to complement each other, but in my opinion there were just too many similar colors.

Here on my arm you can see the different finishes of the shadows a bit better. Some of them have a lot of glitter in them, while others are matte. Most of the shades were satin. When I swatched them they felt kind of powdery, and as you can see in the swatches they are kind of patchy. Kind of disappointing, not going to lie. I’ve heard good things about these little palettes so I guess I expected more.

Anyways I never go off swatches alone, since I know that sometimes swatches don’t mean much. They might work fantastically on the eyes. I came up with this look below, I’ll tell you which shades I used after.

img_0238_fotor

img_0246_fotor

If I look at these pictures I get kind of sad, because it just doesn’t look pretty. I’ve used so many different shades, but it didn’t show up on my skin because they kept all looking the same. I put eyeshadow primer on, and set that primer with the first shade of the second row, it’s a matte cream color so perfect for that step.

Then I grabbed the second color of the first row and put it in my crease. It was really difficult to get it to show up on my skin tone, probably because it was so light. Then to darken up my crease I used the third color of the first row, something you can barely see in my opinion. For my lid shade I used the second color of the second row, it’s a metallic color so I thought it would be perfect, but the pigment was so disappointing. To darken up the outer bit of my lid I used the fourth color of the second row, again something you can’t really see.

I don’t really like the finished look, it looks like I only put one shade on. The pigment was so bad it was even worse than swatching them on my arm.

Conclusion: I had high hopes for this palette, but sadly it was just not good. The pigmentation is really bad, and some shades have so much fall out your whole under eye turns grey as well. There’s not much more for me to say besides that I’m just disappointed in this palette.

Rating: 4/10

Hope you found this review useful. Have you ever tried this eyeshadow palette, and would you still pick it up even after my bad review? See you on the next one!

All the love, Des x

 

One thought on “Essence All About Greys Eyeshadow | Review

Leave a Reply

