Anastasia Beverly Hills Moonchild Palette | Review

dsc00913_fotor

One of the most hyped products from 2016 must have been the ABH Moonchild palette. This has to do with the fact that last year was the year of highlighter. Everyone came out with some kind of highlighter, either individual or in a palette. I’ve talked about the ABH highlight palette In Gleam before, and how much I love it. If you want to know if this will be another favorite of mine, then do keep on reading.

The highlight palettes from ABH have always gotten good feedback from the beauty community. I own one and absolutely adore it. The reason I never bought more was mostly because of the color selection in those. In my opinion, those were more suited for darker skin tones.

When I first heard about this palette I was interested, but didn’t necessarily need it. Getting just into makeup and highlighter was already a lot. Putting something so sparkling on your face and then even do it in color, it’s a bit much. But as everyone got their palettes and the reviews started to come in, I caved and decided that, yes I needed this palette in my life.

I was lucky enough that I could order with someone from the ABH website. The palette retails for $40. It might sound expensive, but keep in mind you get six shades in this palette!

This is what the ABH website writes about the Moonchild palette:

« Magically-Metallic highlighters that offer a celestial skin finish. Layer shades of Anastasia Beverly Hills Glow Kit, together or sweep them separately on face, eyes and body for a kaleidoscopic, shimmering effect. Ideal for use with Brush #23. For a brightly amplified glow, apply with a damp makeup brush or sponge. »

Let’s start with the packaging. The packaging is kind of ice blue and extremely holographic, I love it. It’s always hard to capture these things on camera, but you can see the effect pretty well. In gold lettering “Moonchild” is written on top of the packaging. In the middle of the packaging, in gold fancy lettering, “Anastasia Beverly Hills” is written.

dsc00913_fotor

On the back of the palette all the information, like ingredients, are written in black lettering. The back also says “Glowkit” in gold lettering.

dsc00914_fotor

Let’s continue with the actual palette. It’s identical to the packaging. Ice blue with the gold lettering. It’s a card bord packaging with a magnetic closure. It feels sturdy, I think you can travel with this perfectly. I love the holographic coloring so much!

dsc00915_fotor

dsc00916_fotor

Let’s open this palette shall we? When we open the palette we immediately see there is no mirror inside. I personally don’t mind that, not every palette needs a mirror, but I know a lot of people do mind. The ABH logo is written in gold as is “Moonchild” again.

dsc00917_fotor

dsc00918_fotor

You can see the colors in the palette up close above. I’ll tell you about the colors, and I’ll show you some arm swatches. The ABH website tells this about the colors:

« Blue Ice – Diamond white with an icy blue reflect
Star – A moonstone fusion of mint, platinum and silver reflect
Purple Horseshoe – A glittering lavender with an arctic blue reflect
Pink Heart – Pearl white with a pink opal reflect
Lucky Clover – A shamrock-infused gold with canary yellow diamond reflect
Blue Moon – Frozen blue with a silver reflect »

Below we have the arm swatches. Do you agree with the way ABH describes these colors? From top to bottom we have: Blue Moon, Lucky Clover, Pink Heart, Puprle Horseshoe, Star and Blue Ice.

I really love this palette. The quality of the highlighters is really good. Though I do notice it’s not the same as my In Gleam glowkit. These are a bit more powdery, and there is more shimmer in it. My In Gleam glowkit is more buttery and soft. At the end of the day, it’s a personal preference.

Conclusion: I think this is an excellent palette. The price is pretty good, since you get six different shades. The powders are of really good quality. The lasting power is long. At the end of the day my glow is still visible. It’s something different and unique, yet in my opinion perfectly wearable.

Rating: 9/10

Have you tried this palette yet? Do you want to? Let me know!

All the love, Des

5 thoughts on “Anastasia Beverly Hills Moonchild Palette | Review

Leave a Reply

