Colourpop Gone Coastal Set | Review

img_4916

Hii everyone! Today it’s time for another Colourpop review. I bought their Gone Coastal lip set a while ago and decided it’s time to let you hear my thoughts about it. At the moment the item isn’t on the website anymore, I’m not sure if it will be back or not. If not, I’m sorry you won’t be able to buy it, but if it comes back in stock maybe this review will be helpful for you. If you want to know my thoughts, then please keep on reading

You can only buy Colourpop on their own website, if you find it somewhere else it’s likely to be fake. The Gone Coastal set includes 6 lippiestix in their sheer formula. This means that it will show up on your lips but not with as much pigmentation as other lippiestix.

I have quite a few of lippiestix in their different formulas: creme, matte and matte x. I really enjoy those, so naturally I wanted to see if I would like this formula as well. The Gone Coastel set retails for $25. Their lippiestix normally cost $5 each so basically you get one lippiestix for free.

This is how the packaging looks. It’s a cardbox with a mirror on the inside, which is always useful.

img_4918

img_4917

img_4919

Now let’s get into the swatches on my hand and lips. The first shade is called Kiddo and is described as a warm taupe.

img_4920

img_4923

img_4926

It’s definitely a sheer finish. To get a bit of pigment I had to put on a few layers. It’s very creamy and comfortable on the lips. I like the way it looks!

The next color is Safari which is described as a warm orange color. I’m not the biggest fan of oranges, but let’s see how it looks.

img_4933

img_4934

img_4935

I actually really like the way it looks. It’s probably because it’s a sheer finish, so it’s not as bright and in your face as other orange lippiestix.

Then we’re on to the third lippie of the set. It’s called BYOB and is described as a cool toned pink color. I love pinks (as we all know) so let’s see how it looks on me.

img_4937

img_4938

img_4940

I like this, but I wished it was brighter. It is a bright pink, don’t get me wrong, but because of the sheer finish it’s quite natural. This color is perfect for people who want to experiment with wearing brighter colors, but aren’t comfortable with the bright pinks and reds.

The next color is called Whip and it’s described as a cool toned fuchsia. I often like fuchsia, as it’s between a pink and purple which is right up my alley.

img_4943

img_4944

img_4945

It’s more purple than I expected, but not in a bad way. I once again love the way it looks. It’s perfectly wearable because it’s not as bright as your usual fuchsia color.

Peacocky is the next one and is described as a blue toned red color. I love reds and more often I go for blue toned reds, so let’s see how it looks.

img_4947

img_4948

img_4950

It’s actually as it’s described. I personally don’t like this too much, because when I think of red I want the “in your face” kind of color. But this is perfect for people who think a red is too bright for their taste.

The final color is this Gone Coastal set is called Tiger and is described as a rich plum wine color.

img_4952

img_4953

img_4954

This color is perfect for fall if you want to go a bit darker but don’t want to go too purple. I really like the way it looks!

Below you can see up close pictures of the colors on my lips.

Conclusion: While I like the colors in this set, and I think I can definitely pull them all of, I don’t think this would be something I’d reach for a lot. I like to have lippiestix that have more of a color pay off. I like either really bright lippiestix or very dark colors. I don’t like the way you can’t really see the color with this set. I think it’s a good set if you want to try out this formula, and for people who don’t lie bright lipsticks. I personally love the other formulas that Colourpop offers more.

Rating: 7/10

What do you think of the colors? Let me know, do you have this set and are you happy with it?

Let me know what you thought of this post. Have you gotten curious about this set? Do you hope Colourpop brings it back? Let me know and I’ll see you again soon.

All the love, Des x

 

Leave a Reply

