Battle of the Mascaras | Review

Hello everyone! Today I have a battle of the mascara post for you. In my Styletone Beautybox I receive various different products. Over the past few months, I received two mascaras. I thought it would be fun to try and find out which one is my favorite and why. If you’re interested to see which mascaras I’ll talk about, and my opinions on them, then keep on reading.

The first mascara is the Ace of Face mascara Eyerule nr 3. It promises to volumize and curl your lashes, without smudging or flaking The color is pitch black. This is how the packaging of the mascara looks.

dsc00779

dsc00780
dsc00781

The wand of the Ace of Face mascara reminds me a little of the Benefit Roller Lash mascara. I like the Benefit one, so I hope this one will also be a success.

The other mascara I’ve gotten in the Styletone box is from the brand Jelly Pong Pong. The mascara promises a volumized effect that is perfect for a no makeup, makeup day.

dsc00776

dsc00777

dsc00778

The wand of the Jelly Pong Pong mascara is a lot bigger than the Ace of Face one. I personally don’t mind either way. I like both wands, it’s all about the product for me.

Now let’s get into this “battle”. I’ll show you a picture of how my eyes look without any mascara on. This is so you have an idea how my natural lashes look. They’re quite blonde, they don’t draw much attention.

img_4759

I applied one coat of product and took the first photo. On the left side you see the Jelly Pong Pong mascara and on the right side the Ace of Face one.

 

What a difference? You can barely see I’m wearing any mascara in the left picture. It was very difficult to get any sort of product on. I felt like I kept trying to make it more black, but it was just not happening?! I couldn’t get my lashes to get more volume, they looked the same as before, just with a little bit of color.

The right picture is the Ace of Face mascara. As you can see one layer already looks really good. My lashes are a bit curled, I definitely have more volume and it’s black as I expect of a mascara. I’m very enthusiastic about this mascara so far.

I applied a second layer of mascara on both eyes because I always wear 2 coats. Left side is Jelly Pong Pong and the right side is Ace of Face.

The second coat definitely helped the left side a little. The Jelly Pong Pong mascara looks a little better. I still don’t like the effect it gives my lashes though. They’re straight rather than curling upwards, and I personally don’t see a lot of volume. I probably won’t use this mascara again, because the effect just isn’t what I want.

I’m really happy with the right side. I love how my lashes look. The Ace of Face mascara applies really easily. The wand makes it easy to get to the roots of your lashes. The color is pitch black, it gives a curl and volumizes a lot! I will definitely be wearing this mascara a lot in the future.

Conclusion: The Ace of Face mascara wins in every department. I really am a fan! It stayed on all day, and didn’t flake on me. Sadly, the Jelly Pong Pong just kind of faded through the day. There was barely any effect left after a few hours.

What did you think of this post? Will you try out these mascaras? See you again soon!

All the love, Des x

Leave a Reply

