MAC Mineralize Skinfinish In Soft & Gentle | Review

Hi everyone!! Today I have another review for you guys. It’s about a product that was so hyped on the internet, I had to get it and try it for myself. As you can see from the title of this article it’s about MAC’s Soft & Gentle. If you want to know what I think about this product, then just keep on reading.

I consider myself to be quite new to the beauty scene. I started to get more into makeup in September 2015, but I didn’t start watching tutorials and buying better quality makeup until the beginning of this year.

Everywhere I looked online whether it be people’s blog posts or tutorials on youtube I always heard of MAC’s Soft & Gentle. Apparently it was/is one of MAC’s best selling mineralized skin finishes. I always thought it looked very pretty on the people I saw it on but wasn’t sure if it would suit me. Only one way to find out, right?

A while back I decided to finally buy MAC Soft & Gentle. I bought in online at Douglas for €31,00. You can of course also buy it at the official MAC website for $32,00.

Let’s go to the MAC website to see what they write about this product.

« A luxurious, slow-baked, velvety soft, domed face powder with a radiant finish. Strategically buff on to add highlights to the high points of the face, or blend all over for a sheer luminous polish to the skin. Features our 77-Mineral Complex and vitamin E. »

 

So this product is supposed to be used as a highlighter. A highlighter is a product which you apply on the highest points of your face where the sun hits your skin. They say you can also blend it all over your face. I definitely don’t agree with putting it all over your face. There is no way I could do that, no matter how hard I would blend it would always be way too dark and shimmery.

As a highlighter it does its work perfectly. The highlighter is really buttery and pigmented but not so pigmented that you have trouble applying it. It picks up the right amount of product which might depend on the brush you use. I can say that it stayed on my skin for an entire day. It definitely had a wear time of 8 hours. It wasn’t as pigmented as it was in the morning but you could still see it very clearly.

Unfortunately the highlighter was too dark for me. As we know I”m very fair and the product was just too dark. When I put it on my face you literally saw an entire stoke on my cheekbones. No matter how hard I blended or how little I applied there was no way I could get it to work. Obviously that is my own fault, I thought I could pull it off but I couldn’t.

Now let’s get into the packaging of the product. It’s classic MAC packaging meaning sleek and black. It has a magnetic closure which I personally really like. The top of the product is see-through so you can see the color.

And then here we have a swatch of Soft & Gentle on my hand.

IMG_4349

Conclusion: I think this is a very pretty and good quality highlighter. I personally don’t think you can use it all over your face but it might work for people with deeper skin tones. The pigmentation is on point, the highlighter is buttery and while it might seem expensive the product itself is quite big. I unfortunately gave mine away because I just couldn’t pull it off, but I wanted to review it for you anyway.

Rating: 8/10

I really hope you liked this review, let me know if you ever tried any of MAC’s Mineralized Skinfinishes. See you again soon!

All the love, Des x

5 thoughts on “MAC Mineralize Skinfinish In Soft & Gentle | Review

Leave a Reply

