Milani Amore Mattallics Lip Creme | Review

IMG_3909

Hey everyone! Today I’m doing a review about the Milani Amore Mattallics Lip Creme. Now I only bought one shade, because if I didn’t like it, I’d have a bunch of liquid lipsticks I’d never use. If you want to know which shade I reviewed and what my opinion about it is, then keep on reading.

As with every review I went on the Milani Cosmetics website to see what they wrote about the Mattalics:

« Paint your pout with gilded glamour. Introducing 8 limited edition shades of new metallic matte liquid lip crème. Bold and richly pigmented, these metallic liquid lip colors shine with a soft luster and dry to a smooth matte finish—without drying out your lips. Waterproof and kiss-approved, each Amore Mattallics Lip Crème delivers up to 16 hours of wear. Remove with an oil-based longwear lip color remover. »

You can buy them at the Milani Cosmetics website for $8,99 a piece. I bought mine at Boozyshop for €9,99.

Let’s get into this review, shall we? Below you see a photo of the packaging. It’s in a clear tube so you can see the color of the lipstick. The lid of the tube is gold, which I think looks very pretty. On the tube it says: “Amore Mattallics lip crème” in Golden letters, which fits perfectly with the golden lid.

IMG_3912

The applicator is a dough foot applicator and it has a weird shape. This makes it easier to precisely apply your lipstick. You can really make the lines crisp and sharp because of the shape of the applicator, which I like. It’s also quite flexible which again helps with the application of the product.

IMG_3910

What I really do need to mention is the smell of the liquid lipstick. It smells very heavy, very sweet, like sweeter than anything I’ve ever smelled before. I really do not like it, it’s too sweet for me, even when I have it on my lips you can still smell it. If I get a little bit of lipstick in my mouth (which happens to the best of us) you get a taste so sweet in your mouth, something I really don’t like.

On to the application of the liquid lipstick. I started off with one layer of lipstick. What I noticed was that when I tried to put it on, if you go over it, it immediately moves. I could barely put the first layer on because of that. The applicator makes it easy to apply, but the formula of the lipstick doesn’t. It’s very thin and with just one layer it looks very sheer and streaky.

IMG_3902

Personally, I don’t like the way it looks. It’s really metallic (which I like) but also very streaky, something you don’t see that well on the picture. I decided to see what would happen if I applied another layer. I let it dry for a bit, then put on the second layer. It went really easy but again it moves so much that you keep trying to fill in the empty spots but it just won’t stay put there. The lipstick dries quite fast, I’d say it’s dry after 1 to 2 minutes.

IMG_3904

It’s not that it looks bad, I personally just don’t really like it. It could be the color, but usually I can wear orange without it looking bad. The lipstick dries down completely matte but it’s not kiss proof, there’s always a bit of transfer. Especially when I ate something, I could just put my finger on my lips and there was quite a bit of transfer.

Here are two pictures of my entire face, now do keep in mind I only have mascara on, not a full face of makeup.

Conclusion: I like the concept of the Mattallics more than the actual results. It applies very streaky which makes it difficult to get it properly on your lips. This problem could probably be solved with a lipliner underneath. I’d like it more if the pigmentation was better, and if the smell wasn’t so horribly sweet. Overall I’m kind of disappointed, and I’m glad I didn’t buy more of them.

Rating: 5/10

Have you tried these liquid lipsticks? Do you have any recommendations for metallic lipsticks you like? Let me know! See you all on Friday!

All the love, Des x

Leave a Reply

